PDA

View Full Version : Can Maya Be Self Taught?

Shuggs
07-30-2008, 10:24 PM
Hey all.

I'm going to take a leap of faith and try to learn Maya. Since it's an industry standard I figured it wouldn't hurt to learn the program. How hard is it though? I'm a Lightwave user, and I've dabbled in and out of Maya once or twice. Basically, it was a little too overwhelming. I want to learn how to model inside of Maya as I intend to be a modeler.

DecWest
07-30-2008, 10:28 PM
There are an abundance of very good free tutorials online to help get you started.

As far as learning the Maya workflow, my top tip - work from the 'hotbox' (press and hold spacebar) with only the create and polygon edit tools displayed. This will help prevent getting lost in the myriad of options and features that come as standard.

good luck and keep us all posted

inguatu
07-30-2008, 11:14 PM
I learned Maya coming from LW. It'll take a while to get used to Maya, as LW's interface and the way it does things is archaeic and non-standard. You'll soon realize that after working in Maya a short while.

Probably the best single source for getting you up to speed the fastest is Digital Tutor's Intro to Maya, 2nd Edition: http://www.digitaltutors.com/store/product.php?productid=418&cat=51&page=1

cgbeige
07-31-2008, 04:35 PM
I'm all self-taught with Maya. I'm not an animator though (I use it for print) but the combination of good books and Digital Tutor/Gnomon tutorials and web info means that you can get a lot out of Maya without having to pay through the nose for 3-D classes.

the hard part is knowing where to start but there are plenty of books to look through on Amazon that are good primers.

brianod
07-31-2008, 05:55 PM
Maya, the Complete Reference is a good book to start with. Mcgraw Hill / Osborne, various versions. Authors Tom Meade, Shinsaku Arima.

Also Peachpit Press Maya Visual Quickstart series.

You can even get inexpensive versions of these books starting with Maya 6, 7, 8, 8.5.