PDA

View Full Version : New Character Animation Demo Reel

Woodsider
07-26-2008, 06:46 PM
Hey there. I just finished my demo reel and put it up online. I would love to get some feedback. I graduated from college this spring and am looking for my first industry job. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5sdjhrSGlPY

Sadly, my hosting wont allow large file uploads so I put it up on YouTube. Be sure to watch it in high quality! Thanks

Michael Woodside

drawallday
07-27-2008, 05:14 PM
First of all, congratulations with your graduation!

I checked your demo out of blue while rendering something. Seems like you have too many different mediocre animated segments thrown together. Personally I would pick one favorite segment and try to improve it. I think one or two incredible and memorable segment can be enough to make a great demo.

Hope that helps.

Woodsider
07-29-2008, 04:04 PM
Thanks Michael. I appreciate your straight forward criticisms. I am learning and am (hopefully) constantly getting better (you should see my old reel.) So hopefully the next one will be even better!

Mudokon83
07-29-2008, 08:03 PM
Yeah right now all your dialogue and movement stuff is "almost" there, i would keep doing 11 sec. club stuff, stick with walk/runs/box pushes/jumps if you want a game job, if you want a film animation job, stick with character pieces, really watch ALL the 11 second club animations, get a rig you are comfy with and continue doing facial animation, posting iterations in 11 second club forums for critique and keep improving.

if you need a job asap since graduating, i'd look for any temp/contract jobs for games. Customize your reel around polished pieces, 1min or less is best for a reel overall with no experience at any place.

so game reel = runs/walks/jumps etc
film reel = 1 to 2 character interaction dialogue showing emotion and humor/sadness with great timing and style.