PDA

View Full Version : Displacement map

CRoland
07-22-2008, 08:18 PM
Hi !

I'm still new to the world of 3d and I need some advice for rendering with displacement map in Blender. I bought the Gnomon's dvd Head scuplting and texturing in Zbrush. I've created everything I need, I have my mesh imported in Zbrush with the specular, color, bump and displacement map. The problem is the inscrtuctor is using mental ray and maya for his final render and I don't have those expensive software, so I'm trying to do the same thing with blender rendering engine. I'm able to set up all my different maps except the displacement map. I've made some research on how to set up displacement map, but I haven't found a nice looking way to make my displacement map affect my mesh to make it look like it was in the highres Zbrush version. My guy have the bubble man syndrom and I don't know what to tweak and how to tweak the differents values to make it look right.

Can someone help me or refer me to a link where it explain the process to set up a displacement map in Blender that will make your model look like it was in Zbrush.

Thanks for your time and I'm sorry for my bad english, it's my second language so my sentences may look strange sometimes.

Joat
07-23-2008, 02:39 AM
To use displacement mapping in Blender with decent results would require a really high resolution mesh to apply it to. I think you are actually after normalmap, since it seems to be the normal technique to do the thing you are doing.

I hope this will give you a head start, since it's not possible for me to check the settings from Blender at this time.

Michael-Williamson
07-23-2008, 09:38 AM
Unlike mental ray there's no "micro poly" displacement in blender. there is an "adaptive subdivision modifier" in development that tries to only divide what is needed at render time. (search for Kai Kostock adaptive subdivision i think) that aside....