PDA

View Full Version : Radiohead clip


ZoZ
07-19-2008, 09:45 AM
Hi all,
Radiohead is making public the pointcloud data of their new clip "House of cards", and inviting people to play with it here:

http://code.google.com/creative/radiohead/

Is there a way to get this pointcloud data in C4D? (csv.file)

sincerely Zoltan

vid2k2
07-19-2008, 11:41 AM
If you're on a PC:

http://www.simx.com/simx/simx.stt/entry=7/adv=42?gclid=CO6knZDvy5QCFQVvFQod024AlA

base80
07-19-2008, 02:09 PM
Hi Zoltan
Thanks for the link, this is graet data

I tried an import with the ASCII importer but it failed to do a correct import.
I am working on an xpresso to convert this specific file structure (x,y,z,intensity)
This will probably take a while...

This is the image of the ASCII import:
http://www.base80.com/xpresso-files/ASCII_radiohead/radiohead1.jpg

ZoZ
07-19-2008, 03:23 PM
Thanks David, I'm on a mac;
and base80; I can already see Thoms profile in there, (and see you after holydays)

sincerely Zoltan

base80
07-19-2008, 04:34 PM
I've made an xpresso that imports the text file at every frame.
Cuts the text in vectors for every point.
and positions points according to the file.

the only problem is that xpresso can not handle this amount of info.
So this is a dead end sorry.

vid2k2
07-19-2008, 05:08 PM
ZoZ: me too
base 80: thanks for the effort, much appreciated.
Also, many thanks for all your excellent contributions.

shtl
07-19-2008, 05:21 PM
Yup, thanx for trying at least. :beer:

Per-Anders
07-19-2008, 05:54 PM
Use ASCII import and rotate your camera, that is the correct thing you're seeing there.

base80
07-19-2008, 06:34 PM
The ASCII data is not correct here, it imports the "intensity" as the Z value and doesn't import the X value at al (considering it as the point number)

The xpresso does exactly what it is supposed to do except it is way to heavy to execute.
Maybe someone with a fast machine has more luck
here is the file
http://www.base80.com/xpresso-files/ASCII_radiohead/Importer_radiohead_0002.c4d.zip
click on the xpresso tag to set the path to the first cvs file
and set the "Points" value to 10000 if you want my thing to read all the points ( a lower value (100) works better and faster)

ZoZ
07-19-2008, 06:53 PM
Thanks base80, it's also too heavy for my comp as well...

sincerely Zoltan

CGTalk Moderation
07-19-2008, 06:53 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.