PDA

View Full Version : My attempt at a walk cycle

klkkimura
07-19-2008, 02:28 AM
Here is a walk cycle using the Alfred rig i am working on. I feel like there is still something that just doesn't look right, but am stumped. I have been animating for about 6 months, so am still sort of a newb and was hoping for some crits.

Here is the link (sorry, it's YouTube).

http://youtube.com/watch?v=XVKbcYqgZ-s

andrewmartin
07-20-2008, 01:33 AM
Not bad!

Two things that stand out to me immediately are the torso and front leg.

Firstly, I feel like the characters torso is moving awkwardly. Try having him lean forwards more and reduce the amount of change in this angle as he takes each step. At the moment his torso rotates forward an backward from the hips in each step - a bit like a pidgeon. This is causing his COG to move forwards and backwards too much. It looks a little odd.

And secondly, try making the front leg straighten by the time the foot contacts the ground.

I hope this helps.

thebeesneeze
07-20-2008, 03:20 AM
You may also want to look into the timing of the feet.

Right now it appears that the rear foot is beginning to lift off the ground before the front foot has completely landed. This can create a feeling of weightlessness.

If you straighten out the leading leg as mentioned above, and plant it one or two frames earlier, this should help a lot.

The upper body and head are also very stiff, try putting the slightest amount of bend and follow-through into the chest, then follow that on into the head. Be careful not to over do it though.

klkkimura
07-23-2008, 04:38 AM
Thanks for your help. I've used your comments and changed a couple of things. Here is the updated walk cycle.

http://keitakimura.blip.tv/file/1104317/

andrewmartin
07-24-2008, 07:57 AM
It's definitely getting better!

A couple of suggestions...