PDA

View Full Version : Loopity loops...

jjburton
07-14-2008, 04:03 PM
This is probably a basic q, I'm not a programmer. What I'm trying to do is run some "for loops" on the content of several string arrays . i.e. for each object in each object set do that.

My first thought was to parse the array names into another array and run a for loop on that. However, I couldn't get it work.

string $baseObjectSets[] = {"$qssBaseObjects0","$qssBaseObjects1"};
string $qssBaseObjects0[] = {"pCube1", "pCube3"};
string $qssBaseObjects1[] = {"pCube1", "pCylinder3"};

for ($set in $baseObjectSets) {
string $objectSet = $set;
for($object in $objectSet) {

}

I've tried a couple of methods but nothing seems to work. The $object will print as the correct name but the second for loop errors out saying it's not an array.

Any help would be appreciated:)

Buexe
07-14-2008, 05:16 PM
string $objectSet = $set;

defines a string not an array of strings, the "[]" are missing, but even if on the right hand side is only a string so Maya will complain again. You should provide another array if you want to loop over that. for example query the members of a set and then do something with them, like

string $baseObjectSets[] = {"$qssBaseObjects0","$qssBaseObjects1"};
for ($set in $baseObjectSets) {
string $objectSet[] = `sets -q $set`;
for($object in $objectSet) {
print ( $object + " is a member of " + $set + "\n");
}
}

hope this helps...

jjburton
07-14-2008, 08:28 PM
Buexe, thanks for the help. However, for some reason it won't recognize that "qssBaseObjects0" exists when used in that format. I think it's because the "sets" command is looking to query and actual set and not an array.

Is there a similar command to query the members of an array?

Buexe
07-14-2008, 08:41 PM
well, it was just an example, of course you have to fill in your stuff, maybe this loop-style fits your purposes better, of course it can be combined with other loops

string $qssBaseObjects0[] = {"pCube1", "pCube3"};