PDA

View Full Version : I Can't decide between Max or Modo (a question of marketability)

marco44
07-13-2008, 03:43 PM
I'm trying to decide between Max or modo (My focus is on modeling and texturing).

My main dilemma has to do with marketability of skills. If finding employment wasn't an issue, I would choose Modo (no doubts there). However, I recently did a survey of 3D job postings on various job search engines and found that the majority of positions required 3DS Max or Maya skills. Some said things like 'or equivalent', but it's clear that these two apps rule the market place. I have some experience with Max already, so between those two, I would choose Max (Maya drives me crazy with it's overly technical interface). I've played with Modo and Max enough to know that I could create things much easier in Modo, but I don't want to invest a lot of time into a program if I'm not going to get work. However, it seems that with modeling at least, the tool is less important than the product?

Does anybody have any advice to get me over this hump and into creating!

Much thanks in advance...

Marco

brianod
07-13-2008, 11:53 PM
Well, if you want to concentrate on modeling...

Just my opinion but the big demand seems to be for character movement (IK,FK) which Max and Maya do well but Modo doesn't have yet. This is why online schools like Animation Mentor are doing so well. They only teach movement, they give you the models and they prefer you use Maya.

Modo is the best (IMHO) or at least most intuitive modeler out there. I would have to believe that eventually it will support character animation.

Also, consider price. Modo is way less expensive than the other packages.

Max seems more for gaming, I don't see many 3D animated movies with Max in the credits. Maya seems to lead the pack in feature movie creation.