PDA

View Full Version : RAID-0 setup question : Same or different channel?


reForm
07-10-2008, 01:26 PM
I'm setting up a raid-0 with two 500gb drives on a s2895 K8we motherboard. Can anyone tell me if I need the 2 drives to be on the same or different SATA channels?
Any other tips for improving the HD performance using nvraid?

Thanks!

reForm
07-10-2008, 01:30 PM
Just to clarify, in the nvidia mediashield control panel
My OS drive is on the primary channel and is the master device

My Raid drives are :-
HD1 - Secondary - Master
HD2 - Primary - Master

According to the SATA ports on my motherboard. The HD2 is connected to SATA2+3 and HD1 is connected to SATA1. I'm not sure what my OS hd is connected to but I assume its SATA0.

Cheers
p.

Srek
07-10-2008, 01:56 PM
One SATA channel can only serve one device (unless you go for currently extremely exotic hardware).
Don't worry which connector you use as long as those connectors belong to the same controller.
Cheers
Björn

CGTalk Moderation
07-10-2008, 01:56 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.