PDA

View Full Version : BFA in Animation or Cert in Computer Animation?

chunhong
07-09-2008, 06:34 PM
Hi guys, I have several questions here and hope you guys able to give me some precious opinions..

I'm taking Interior Design in Lasalle College of Art(Singapore) now..
Actually I'm interested in CG but my school's animation and fine art are kind of... "art"..
Their animation major(media art) is focusing on storytelling.. the student work is mostly done by flash.. and their fine art course is not illustration.. they prefer abstract painting.. which is really irrelevant what I want to learn..

Fortunately, Digipen's come to Singapore and I have already gotten in.. But the problem is I have been studying for 1 year and spent S$15k for only tuition fees.. Digipen costs $82k for 4 years.. I'm a international student so I have to pay my accommodation as well..

Singapore's art educational system is 3 years for diploma and 4years for bachelor's..
So what i really confused is should i go to digipen to pursue an US degree? Spend S$97k and 5 years for a degree in Singapore?

Or juz earn my diploma in Interior Design first then try to apply Sheridan Computer Animation cert in Canada?
of course, the latter will cost me lesser.. So which educational pathway should i choose? I hope you guys are willing to share some experience or opinion..

My parents cannot afford me to go western country since my sis is studying in melbourne(need 2 more years)..

As far as i know, digipen is a game institute and known for its bachelor of science.. so how about its animation course?

My dream is i m able to study and work in US or canada.. So, is sheridan computer animation course difficult to get in? I logged on canada immigration website juz now and know that as a 1-yr-certificate holder can only work for 1 year in canada? I heard that Us and canada only prefer bachelor degree holder to apply work permit.. is tat true?