PDA

View Full Version : Z Compose problem


jomasan
07-08-2008, 04:28 PM
I'm having a problem making a z composition in combustion:
I get a line of pixels showing the background, so the merge doesn't work. I'm using RPF files generated in 3dmax and I have tried 3 diferent render engines and diferent antilising settings but I get the same result. It apears that the z-depth embebbed in the RPF file isn't quite acurate.

Here are some referencial images:

http://bp2.blogger.com/_JxE3nivHoXc/SHOGBFPRbKI/AAAAAAAAACQ/2smej5e4qAc/s1600-h/TEAPOT+RESULT0000.jpg
http://bp2.blogger.com/_JxE3nivHoXc/SHOHHQeALkI/AAAAAAAAACo/7vp_LWL-pGc/s1600-h/teapot+b.jpg
http://bp2.blogger.com/_JxE3nivHoXc/SHOGocW8uOI/AAAAAAAAACY/ZUIJtn1lZuM/s1600-h/teapot+a+.jpg

PLZ i need help here...

beaker
07-11-2008, 03:51 PM
Really simple, don't use Z to composite. Render everything as separate and then comp. Z is very low quality and isn't very useful for comping. You can use it to a limited degree for fog or DOF but personally I would generate a fake zpass(rgb rendered) or just fake the z all together in the compositor for that.

CGTalk Moderation
07-11-2008, 03:51 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.