PDA

View Full Version : Equivalent of max noise controller in XSI


pete
06-26-2008, 06:48 AM
I often use the noise controller in max to add shake to cameras, flicker to lights ect. Is there an equivalent of this in XSI?
Thanks
Pete

3DQUAKERS
06-26-2008, 07:28 AM
Create a null, press Ctrl+K for its local transform.
Right-click on Position Y and Add Expression.
Add a Random expression from the Functions list.
To ramp it in and out, you can multiply it with a custom parameter ranging from 0 to 1, and animate that parameter.

pete
06-26-2008, 07:47 AM
ok, thanks.
There's some interesting stuff in there. I'll have to have a look around.
One thing though, the noise in there gives you an X Y Z variable but why would you need these 3 when you can only apply it to one animatable parameter?

CiaranM
06-26-2008, 01:19 PM
Hi,
x,y,z, do not relate to the axis, but are the 3 arguements that are used to generate the noise function. Replace each arguement with an expression (even just a single value) to vary your noise function (just make sure one of the expressions involves time!).

pete
06-27-2008, 02:39 AM
Thanks guys, that's handy stuff!

m00n
06-27-2008, 03:41 AM
try this one, little but handy

http://www.xsi-blog.com/archives/124

CoolCalb
06-27-2008, 05:41 PM
You can also check out an Fcurve tools plugin I wrote, it has an add noise layer option.
(xsi 6)

You select the fcruves you want to add noise layer(s) too, and in the plugin PPG, you set
the options and click the button.

http://www.ozadi.com/scripts/FCurveTools/docs/Oz_FCurveToolsPlugin.htm

CGTalk Moderation
06-27-2008, 05:41 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.