PDA

View Full Version : Help me about rigid body simulation!!

Yuki Katoh
06-23-2008, 06:53 AM
I have a complicated shot that about 100 pieces of card gather one point and make 1 card.

I wanted to try to make scene that crash card to pieces, then bake it and reverse animation curve.

Then there's some problems.
1. channel box show me strange value like "1.#QO " and gone somewhere.
2. Simulation is almost good , then I save scene and open again.
Then gravity field dosen't work!! why?
3. Sometime when I run bake simulation, looks very heavy and stop caluclating and make keys with same value.

about Question 1, I guess it caused by ginbal lock.
but I don't have idea to avoid it.

thanks for reading.

P.S
I'm not good at using English.
If possible could you teach me simple sentence.
(Of cource I'll try to read however it's difficult to read.)

Aikiman
06-23-2008, 07:08 AM
Turn self collisions off and make sure you dont have extremely high values anywhere if you can help it. I have found if you have values like initialSpin X = 2000 on multiple rigids, then the solver can choke up and stop or cause unexpected results.

Yuki Katoh
06-23-2008, 07:24 AM
thanks for reply.

I truned self collisions off and baked just one piece.
but same result....
I tried the situation that you told me (initialSpin X = 2000 on multiple rigids).
Then as you told the solver stoped.

I write more about detail of my scene.
I use a radial field (magunitude 40) to crash card and gravity(magunitude 3) field for fall them down.
And I changed the rigid body status bounciness 0, damping 1.5, static and dynamic friction to 0 from the default setting.
humm.

Aikiman
06-23-2008, 08:58 AM
Dont use any initial spin and lower your magnitude of your radial to 5, see what happens. If it still locks up the solver then perhaps try using nCloth rigids if you have nCloth. I find Mayas rigid solver very unpredictable.

Yuki Katoh
06-23-2008, 09:14 AM
thank you for reply.

I did along your advice, then almost good!