PDA

View Full Version : The Shadow Demon

alicelefay
06-18-2008, 10:30 AM
http://www.alicefantasyart.com/ALICEFAY/pics/TheShadowDemonweb.jpg
This is a painting i developed from a scketch posted in the Daily Sketch Forum...
Suggestions and critiques please :D

Photoshop CS, about 8 hours

TedNindo
06-18-2008, 01:27 PM
hey some nice ideas. The fur on the helmet looks excellent. What I would recommend is a proper lighting. In your drawing I can't make out a lightsource. Thats why the painting looks a bit flat. You have quite a lot light and dark in your background but thats not the case with your figure especialy the skin. If you install a proper lighting you will get more and better readable forms. Hope that helps you

alicelefay
06-18-2008, 01:41 PM
oh yes it helps me a lot...lights are a big problem in my paintings, I'm studying them and i hope to get some results one day ^^
I tried to give the idea of lights and shadows in the skin too (it's the first time that I use the combination of reddish and blue colours on skin to give a sense of realism)...but yes, it's still so flat...perhaps it needs more contrast? more light?
:hmm: I hope to understand this in the sketches I'm working furiously on LOL

Thank you :))

arielmedel
06-18-2008, 03:40 PM
I don't know if someone mentioned this but the right part of her torso and leg look flat... The mohak looks great ;)

alicelefay
06-18-2008, 05:17 PM
http://www.alicefantasyart.com/ALICEFAY/pics/TheShadowDemon02web.jpg

I tried to fix the question of the flat body...
I added a orange reflection and a blue shadow, more intense, near to it...
Does it all make any sense? :argh:
Thank you for the help and comments

arielmedel
06-18-2008, 05:35 PM
I did some changes to your image that I think would help, I hope you don't mind, these are suggestions. It's very rough, so don't take it as it is, most of the things I did are indications.