PDA

View Full Version : Game content makers model viewing software.

Magian
06-16-2008, 02:45 AM
I am very new to XSI and I have been having trouble getting the OpenGL Preview mode to work correctly. I am concerned that this may be a common issue (I am trying to get a alpha map to show in the OpenGL Preview mode, please see my other thread in SoftimageXSI forum if you might be able to help) and I am curious to know what everyone else uses to view their models as they work on them.

Of course, I realize that the best two alternatives would probably be XSI and the engine that you are using. But I am wondering if I have any good alternatives in case I cannot get the OpenGL problem resolved on this machine.

Respectfully,
Darren

EDIT: I just realized that my first post, which I referred to in the first paragraph of this post, did not show up. Apparently it has to be approved before it will appear. I apologize for the confusion.

Strang
06-16-2008, 08:10 PM
do you want to see texture mapped transparency in the viewport?

Magian
06-16-2008, 08:32 PM
Yes, I would prefer to see it in the viewport.

tc
06-17-2008, 03:36 AM
Render>material>OGL alpha transparency.

This will put a realtime shader in the selected object. If you don't want to override the material of the object, you can access this node through the Render Tree in Nodes>RealtimeOGL>more...
then select OGLAlphaTrans.

Plug your map in the end of the tree. and thats it.

Realtime are a bit tricky in XSI, but the difference is that you can do whatever you want to do with them.

about Realtime Shaders in the help: http://softimage.wiki.avid.com/xsidocs/realtime_conc_RealtimeShaders.htm#Rfb13635

Magian
06-17-2008, 04:06 AM
tc