PDA

View Full Version : pflow, mesher, vol select problem


Glacierise
06-13-2008, 10:06 AM
Hi,

I wanna make some particles interact with geometry - make some displacement. The plan is to use mesher on the particles, then pass it to a volume select on the target geometry, and it's easy from there on. The problem is that volume select does not work with mesher directly - the mesh object needs to be a mesh/poly. So the solution I find is to apply a point cache, record the animation, then convert the mesher to poly, then apply the recorded animation. Cool so far, but the point cache does not accept changing topology, which is quite a severe restriction with particle systems. Any thoughts on circumventing this restriction?

Thanks!

Polimeno
06-13-2008, 10:37 AM
EDIT:

can you post the max file ?

holycause
06-13-2008, 12:03 PM
you don't need to apply an edit poly modifier on the mesher.

PsychoSilence
06-13-2008, 05:51 PM
ey galcierise!

i uploaded a file covering that stuff a while ago:

www.3delicious.de/spielwiese/research/PFlow-MeshDeform.rar

Glacierise
06-15-2008, 10:11 AM
Damn, I could swear it didn't accept the mesher when I tried it! Great help guys!

CGTalk Moderation
06-15-2008, 10:11 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.