PDA

View Full Version : 1st Animation Test - Please Critique

Boldaz-Lepton
06-10-2008, 08:44 AM
Hi,
This is my very first post on these forums although I've been a frequenter for a while. I'm currently studying animation and this is a simple acting exercise I've been doing in class. The dialogs are from Pulp Fiction (I know... so cliche) and are kind of discontinuous so coherency has been a bit of a problem. The acting is not meant to portray the actual scene(s) the dialogs were taken from. This is my first animation test and I need some critiques, please.

Right off the bat I know there are some interpolations that are not the smoothest and I will fix those as soon as I can. What I'm looking for is some comments on acting, timing, lipsync and especially poses. I really want to become a good animator and I have thick skin so please don't hold back on your comments. This is supposed to be an ensamble piece with 3 other characters acting along. I just posted this character which is the one I animated, the modeling and rigging were done by someone else.

Here's the link and THANKS

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sXL_QKwRth8

Boldaz-Lepton
06-11-2008, 09:54 AM
ehhh, hello...

is there anybody out there??

gibby!
06-12-2008, 06:32 AM
hey boldaz-lepton! first off, i'm glad you've decided to take up animation. it's hard work... harder than most people think but it's very rewarding to see your characters come to life and seeing people enjoy your work. Anyway, you're looking for some feedback and i got some for you my friend.

to start, doing a 53second animation is insane amount of work specially if you're starting off AND the dialogue is all over the place. for this i recommend you pick one scene no longer than 10-15seconds, and two characters max.