PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Gamma Not For LCD Monitors?


CIM
06-03-2008, 02:08 AM
Is it a bad idea to use Adobe Gamma to calibrate a LCD monitor?

Dtox
06-03-2008, 03:23 AM
"Bad" as in not producing the color you want?
Or do you mean bad for the hardware?

I don't think you'll have a problem either way.

Some LCD screens aren't fit for image work though.
Find out what kind of module your screen has.
If it has one of the cheapos that uses dithering instead of actually displaying millions+ colors, then buy a new one and Adobe Gamma should be fine.

CIM
06-03-2008, 10:33 PM
Adobe Gamma does not support LCD monitors.

I found that on Adobe's site.

Dtox
06-12-2008, 01:22 AM
Hmmm.
I guess your question is answered, but that's strange that it doesn't support LCD's.

I'm on a Mac though so I don't use adobe gamma because OSX has system wide color management.

You should still make sure your LCD has a decent module that doesn't use dithering.
It's not immediately apparent if it does or not, but you'll find out when you're trying to color correct an image and it looks like shite.

CGTalk Moderation
06-12-2008, 01:22 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.