PDA

View Full Version : Large Sci-Fi animation

Howard Day
01-10-2002, 08:20 PM
Good news, everyone! I've purchased a server and the animation is now available for your viewing pleasure!

http://www.hedfiles.com/hedch2001.avi
21MB, DIVX 640x240
you will need the Dvix codec (www.divx.com)

This is started out as project to create a realistic jungle. It's taken a little over two months to complete, and is now ready for your eyes. Unfortunately, I've learned so much since I finished this thing that it would be twice as good if I did it now... :-( This is one of the feature animations for the new opening of the Sci-Fi Art webpage. Done in 3dsMax 3. Since it is such a large file, you might want to check out some of my smaller works (http://heday.povray.co.uk) to convince you to download it.
I've been using Max for less than 6 months.

Thanks for taking a look.
Please enjoy.

Howard Day
01-10-2002, 10:11 PM
What, no love?

:-)

Staffan Norling
01-11-2002, 02:58 AM
Ofcourse we love you. :)

el gatto
01-11-2002, 03:55 AM
It looks good Howard :) but it dosen't look really realistic to me :confused: , but I like it anyways :)

good work

ciao

Howard Day
01-11-2002, 04:25 AM
Not realistic? In what way?
Thanks!

NightFox
01-11-2002, 06:23 AM
Looks good. But I would agree it's not totally realistic. The sphere of particles that come from the hull of the ships as they enter the atmosphere, should be more to the shape of the ship's hull instead of this invisible sphere.

The jungle looks good for the fast flying action, but when the two enemy ships stop, it gives away the reality of the jungle.

Looks cool other than those two points I see.

NF

JoBbE
01-11-2002, 08:00 AM
hm I have to say the server you purchased is great! really fast ;)
where is it located?

now to the movie:
it looks pretty good in the fast scenes but in the slow ones you see the plants and all that stuff are lowpoly
also I didn't like the music too much there's not enough 'action' in it