PDA

View Full Version : Avid DNxHD into After Effects


ajcgi
05-27-2008, 09:30 AM
Hello there,
I've been provided with HD background plates in Avid's DNxHD format. Every time I import a 16bpc clip into After Effects and set the project to be 16bpc, the program crashes.
I can view the files fine in Quicktime, I can create a 16bpc project in After Effects no prob, but bring the two together...
I've tried on two machines now, both running CS3. I brought a clip into version 7 but it misinterpreted the file as 8bpc.
Anybody got any experience with this?

Mylenium
05-27-2008, 11:54 AM
This is a known issue. However, if I recall correctly it supposedly should have been fixed in newer versions of the CoDec, so attempt that first. If this does not bring any improvements, I'm afraid you'll have to convert the footage or work at 8 bpc.

Mylenium

ajcgi
05-27-2008, 01:26 PM
Ah nuts, I'm trying to stick to the 16-bpc pipeline.
I'm using the latest codec. Perhaps the edit station is using an older one.
I'll speak to the editor about it when I see him tomorrow. It's kind of reassuring that it's a known issue in a way.

CGTalk Moderation
05-27-2008, 01:26 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.