PDA

View Full Version : Maya dynamics vs Houdini dynamics

esse
05-19-2003, 04:53 PM
Hey all,

I have 5+ years of Maya exerience but I am quite new to Houdini. I am interested to see a side to side comparison (pro's and con's) of Maya's dynamics vs Houdini's dynamics.

Anyone care to share some thoughts?

Cheers.

Javier3D
05-21-2003, 01:05 PM
Sure!! Looking forward to see some answers on this field!!

Should i move into Houdini???

BrandonD
05-29-2003, 05:55 AM
Nope, Houdini's dynamics leave much to be desired from what I've experienced. Maya's are faster and easier to use, designed from the ground-up to be that way. Houdini's use a convoluted workflow with particles that is really unintuitive. Right now if you're doing dynamics work I'd reccommend either Maya or MAX. In fact, MAX's reactor dynamics do some really unique things :)

Houdini in general though rocks. I prefer it over Maya, but primarily from a procedural standpoint - much the way I prefer to work (hence my interest in MAX too).

Jozvex
05-29-2003, 06:59 AM
Although, Houdini is used quite a lot for the particle effects in top movies. Some examples are the river of horses in Lord of the Rings, and most of the atmospheric and particle effects in X-Men 2 like the Nightcrawler BAMPF effect.

BrandonD
05-29-2003, 08:17 AM
Agreed, the Houdini's particle capabilities are hard to beat, but keep in mind it's not just the particle tools themselves, it's how Houdini treats particles (points) in general, a huge benefit of a fully procedural system.

Apoclypse
05-29-2003, 06:02 PM
I disagree that maya's particles are better than houdini's. Houdini is slower but that is because of it's node based nature which maya says it does but it doesn't do it like houdini. You can however do some of the things that you can in houdini in max ( but you have to buy thinking particles which is pretty much houdini's particle system with a tighter kernel)