PDA

View Full Version : Video Game Models

warhawk887
05-23-2008, 09:33 PM
Hey guys, im pretty new at Modeling. well been trying to self teach my self for like oh.. 1year but havnt gotten far i will post a video of what i got so far later. but anyways. i want to become a 3d modeler for video games. And i was just wondering whats the poly Count usally for them? and im talking anout for in-game not cinematic ones. also for the 360, PS3 or PC. Im a Freshman in High school. So Self teaching is kinda hard. but i know i want to do this and i just need some help cause i make things but the poly counts are wicked high.

-DT-
05-27-2008, 04:53 PM
im not a 3D person in gaming field... but if im not mistaken, it is pretty much depending on which type of gaming modeling u doing for...

u cant expect a character in strategy game such as starcraft, warcraft are the same poly as the character in 1st person shooting game like COD4, quake war etc right?

warhawk887
05-27-2008, 06:23 PM
thats true. so i will narrow my question done to. what is the average poly count for character in high detailed games such as COD4 and Gear of War.

RPM
06-08-2008, 08:04 AM
hi warhawk ..
i have just recently bought the d'artiste - character modeling 2 ..
and kevin lanning the guy who created the gears of war models says :

wretch : 10,292
boomer : 10,952
macus fenix : around 15,000

i would think the amount of detail a character would have, would be determined by where he his going to appear in the game.

-DT-
06-10-2008, 06:35 PM
wretch? boomer? macus fenix?

i don quite get it... what are those? @.@

warhawk887
06-10-2008, 07:18 PM
there monsters and main charater of Gears of war.

Giap
09-27-2008, 03:46 AM