PDA

View Full Version : Wrap Defprmer Woes

Cobby85
05-20-2008, 09:07 PM
I am totally new to rigging and modeling for that matter and I've run into a little hitch with my rig.
I created a high poly and low poly version of a model. I smooth skinned the low one to a skeleton and it in turn deforms the high poly one. My problem is with the eyes... I created blendshape targets for the low poly version but the result on the high poly version isn't what I'm looking for (see image).

I have played around with the smoothness, dropoff and influence type but while that makes the edge of the eyelids smooth it messes with the other blendshapes and the results on the blendshapes aren't verygood either.

The result is odd because the influence type is 2(faces, rather than vertices(1)) but it makes these weird points as if some vertices are more influenced than others.

I was just wondering if anyone had a possible solution for me. Can you parent verices to vertices... or can you make a latice that somehow keeps the faces on a straight line?

Your help would be much appreciated
Thanks
Cobby

theflash
05-20-2008, 11:11 PM
I would rather not use wrap for such precise deformations. I am still thinking why you have low poly driving high? Cant you have a skin cluster on a low poly and and on top of that put smooth deformer to get high poly?

Cobby85
05-21-2008, 12:35 AM
Bummer... yea, I'm stuck with it now though... I've already delivered 15 seconds of animation using the current rig and I don't have the extra time anyway to redo things. Also, I am totally new to all of this. I followed a Gnomon workshops tutorial for the creation of this character... as it's my first character built from the ground up, hence the low poly wrap deformer... I don't know any other way to do it... and I'm not really very technically inclined.

Is there not some way around this problem though... like parenting the un-influenced vertices to the influenced ones or something?

theflash
05-21-2008, 03:10 PM