PDA

View Full Version : rigging and UV mapping

sedric
05-17-2003, 09:28 AM
hey fellas, i was just wondering what your workflow was regarding UVmapping a model and rigging it.....i have heard of problems with the deformation order when a model is UV mapped after it is rigged...

is there a proper order of events? or is there a way one person could rig, and the other could be uvmapping at the same time??

what do YOU do?

sedric

Matt Leishman
05-19-2003, 05:48 AM
Hey Sedric,

I am on a project right now where I'm the only rigger for a number of models that need to be rigged and textured at the same time (for scheduling purposes). So I've had to work out some type of solution for this problem. Mind you, i'm no pro at setting up advanced production pipelines, but I like the system that me and the texture mapper on the project have worked out.

If indeed the geometry of the model does not change (ie adding extra poly lines, or merging points etc) after the model is locked and passed onto the rigger and texture mapper, then this method will work smashingly.