PDA

View Full Version : emit particle at death

RoundRobbin
05-14-2008, 08:36 AM
is there a way to emit another particleShape after the original particle dies, or reaches the end of its lifespan/age?

Aikiman
05-14-2008, 08:50 PM
Yes its called the emit function. Create an if conditional on the particles lifespan, then "emit -o particle2 -pos $pos" etc etc. If you require a bunch of particles you need to also create a for loop in conjucntion with the eval command, so that you can emit the same particle many times per frame at death position and velocity if you like. It gets a little complicated with the eval command cause you have to concatenate the emit command as strings but its doable.

RoundRobbin
05-14-2008, 08:58 PM
i'm a newb when it comes to scripting techy stuff.

Aikiman
05-14-2008, 10:40 PM
I think its the only way to do it unless you create a collision event which doesnt require any scripting but then the emission isnt based on lifespan.

How many particles do you want to emit per particle1?

RoundRobbin
05-14-2008, 10:43 PM
Thanks Jeremy, I guess its all mel command reference from here for those functions you've described.

untelon
05-16-2008, 01:11 AM
This is how I would do it:

1. Create a particle system, whatever it may be...

2. Select the particle system you created and chose "Particles/Emit from Object". An Omni type shall work just fine. (NOTE: At this point you should see that a new particle system was created, but its emitter is BENEATH the original particle system.

3. Select The original particle system again, and this time chose "Particles/Per Point Emission Rates".

At this point, if you open the original particle shape node you should see an attribute under the Per Particle Attributes named "Emitter xRate PP" (where x stands for a number).

If you do not see this, repeat 1 through 3.

4. You would then make sure that your original's particles lifespan mode is set to "lifespanPP".