PDA

View Full Version : Real forest in PF: it's possible?

cecofuli
05-13-2008, 10:49 AM
I guy,

i must create a forest, and i don't want to use a Advance Painter or similar script, but i want to use a PF. I'm no so expert, so i want to asjk you if this procedure is possible:

----------------------------------------------------------
1. I want to use a .bmp to place my tree on the ground (for test i use a a simple plane with noise mod apply to it)

2. Align the tree on the polygon ground normal (for test is a teapot)

3. Create a little variation on color tree for better realism.

It' possible or i can use a plug like Forest Pro? Can you help me? I create a simple test with teapot, but i can't align to the normal and i don't know i positioning and colorize the teapot.

Thank's

cecofuli

joconnell
05-13-2008, 12:07 PM
1. Use the position object operator to place the particles on the plane. Use a greyscale bitmap in your diffuse channel and turn on the density by material option - it'll put more particles in the white areas of your map and less in the black areas.

2. This is an annoying one. you have to use a speed by surface operator first set to out from surface - this emits particles in the direction of the object normals. Use a rotation operator set to speed space follow so they align to the speed direction. Then do an age test with 1 as your value sending to an even with a speed of zero. Annoying but that's it.

3. the only option for this is to have a few different materials set up in a multi subobject material and use the assign material id and sub material id options to get the variation.

jonesthesteam
05-13-2008, 12:15 PM
or for vertical trees use random horizontal rotation.

cecofuli
05-13-2008, 12:19 PM
1. Use the position object operator to place the particles on the plane. Use a greyscale bitmap in your diffuse channel and turn on the density by material option - it'll put more particles in the white areas of your map and less in the black areas.