PDA

View Full Version : which is the most under developed rigging tool?

theflash
05-12-2008, 05:55 AM
I am an animation student and I am doing some research on rigging. I am wondering which you think (relatively) is the most under developed rigging tool in Maya?

Looking at all kinds of plugings now a days I think they complemnt a lot with Maya's built in tool. I know that muscle is one topic that is addressed a lot in many plugins.

Buexe
05-12-2008, 09:23 AM
Everything that helps mirroring stuff. whether it is geometry, joints, poses, animation etc. Not only while creating, but also AFTER they have been created. So for example you have rigged a character and later the animators say: Oh this joint here needs to be more like this so we get a better arc/deformation whatever. How will you be able to edit (symmetrically) your hierarchy without messing around forever?

theflash
05-12-2008, 11:08 PM
That's interesting. I have had some problems with mirroring esp with the joint mirroring and geo mirroring. But nothing very serious so far. In your example do you want to change things on both the sides (i.e. refect the changes on other side)? or You want to just move a skinned joint?

refract
05-13-2008, 05:51 AM
The bones,. they highlight everything under it.. (not intuitive)
Adding or removing influences,... (weighting disperses across multiple vertices) {locking/unlocking?.. wtf?}
CopyWeights, .. should work on any frame, not at zero,.. (am i the only one here to notice this?)
A bounding box "setup machine" style of locating mesh boundaries for the mesh deformation.
Automation of clavicles, and twist bones?.. Because animators never have enough time for that on most production cycles.
Easier import/export on anim or fbx for animation and new add of bip files cvs files, or bvh files for mocap.

Buexe?? Didn't you have something in a previous thread redoing Maya's api http://www.janberger.de/jbSquashSplineRig.mov (is that you?.. thats awesome stuff.)