PDA

View Full Version : Particle collision basic question

johnchuang
04-30-2008, 03:50 AM
Hi,all. I'm a newbie learning maya dynamics .
I'm trying to make sort of rains ,but have some problems. I need the particles collide with 3 different objects with different behaviors. Let's say some particles collide with object A then die instantly; some particles hits object B and emit new ones ; the last particles hits object C then bounce and die; AND certain particles only interactive with certain object .

Maybe I'm not clear enough. For short :
Is it possible that one particle node have different effects on different collision objects? And how?

I do know there is a Particle Collision Events menu , but I don't know how to distinguish different collision rely on that .Maybe use particlePP and some expressions? I just can't figure it out.
Any and all helps will be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

BadG3r
04-30-2008, 12:38 PM
The easiest thing would be to create 3 different particle shapes and then use the collision event editor with the settings you described.

In case you really need it to be a single particle shape, however, look up the collision and event command in the docs. add some if statements maybe regarding the particle id and off you go...

drGonzo
05-01-2008, 03:07 PM
I thought this was an interesting one, so I gave it a whirl.

The key to your success is an extremely obscure attr called collisionGeometryIndex (not mentioned in the docs), which provides you with an index of the pieces of geo the particles collide with. (Can be seen in the partShape AE under collision attrs)

Say you want the particles to go red when they collide with object1 and blue when they hit object 2:
int $idx = particleShape1.collisionGeometryIndex;
if( $idx != -1 )
{
if ($idx ==1)
particleShape1.rgbPP = <<1,0,0>>;
if ($idx ==2)
particleShape1.rgbPP = <<0,0,1>>;

}

It gets even more interesting if you want to extract the geo name from that. Thanks to Rob Pieke for the tip: