PDA

View Full Version : Getting installed renderer - how to?


pixel9
04-24-2008, 02:55 PM
I already asked a similar question a while ago. I'm currently developing a tool that should get all in max registered renderer and put them into a dropdown list for selection purposes. Afterwards, the user should be able to set the materials in the material editor to the specific material corresponding to the selected renderer.
Is there a general workaround for this or do I have to install the demo versions of Brazil, FinalRender, Maxwell and Fryrender first? - I'm running 3ds max 9 and V-Ray.
Currently, my tool can set all material slots to standard or V-Ray materials.

ZeBoxx2
04-24-2008, 03:10 PM
rendererClass.classes -- returns an array of the installed renderer classes
#(Default_Scanline_Renderer, VUE_File_Renderer, Brazil_r_s_Pro_Beta_Edition_v2_0__build_1587, Brazil_r_s_V1_2_63, Luminaire_Test_Renderer, Missing_Renderer)

You'll want to ignore the "Missing_Renderer"


fn isB1 class = (
class.classID as string == "#(1387076610, 288174012)"
)
fn isB2 class = (
class.classID as string == "#(95494396, 474502030)"
)

pixel9
04-24-2008, 03:33 PM
*arg* - that was quite easy. Thank you, ZeBoxx2

LoneRobot
04-24-2008, 04:10 PM
no mental ray in your list, Richard? ;)

ZeBoxx2
04-24-2008, 06:03 PM
now why on earth would I have mental ray listed in there? Or are ADSK making that available retroactively to users of older 3ds Max versions now? :D

( And here I thought that Luminaire would have been a hint as to max release version in use there; http://maxplugins.de/max5.php?search=Luminaire&sort=Author )

CGTalk Moderation
04-24-2008, 06:03 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.