PDA

View Full Version : dynamically rigging this kind of hair?

amannin
04-23-2008, 02:44 AM
http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c236/amannin/closeup_front.jpg

his hair is essentially giant leaves and all i want them to do is move as if the wind was blowing them (not a lot, just enough to give them some life). How should I go about doing this?

I'm trying nCloth at the moment, but since I'm new to it I'm not having much luck as of yet. I can get the ends to remain somewhat stationary (mind you i'm only working with one piece at the moment) but I can't get it to keep its form.

I've also tried a dynamic IK spline (influenced by a hair curve), which works great actually, however, it only responds interactively -- I would like for it to respond to fields...

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

PS. also, the most speedy of ways would be great, since nCloth likes to take its time :)

john_homer
04-23-2008, 03:59 AM
hi,
nCloth should be able to get stiff enough...
make sure you have the correct solverScale
set you nuclues subSteps to at least 30
apply on of the presets (like heavy denim) and crank the stretch and compression up to 200 or so... just keep cranking....

If you cant get it stiff enough with the properties...
I would not recommend using rigidity as it is buggy and would not work if you have combinned your shells (leaves)
instead, select all the verts in 1 leaf, create a component to component constraint with a max distance that is about half the lengh of the leaf, crack strength to taste, repeat for other leaves..

.j

amannin
04-24-2008, 07:27 PM
thanks for the input -- however since there are 18 pieces total, nCloth with collisions is terribly slow (i'll have to continue testing it another day).

for now, I just decided to use Maya's hair dynamics combine with dynamic IK splines -- the turbulence and other fields seem to do a decent enough job of moving the hair around with out too much penetration (it's not a very big shot, so i can get away with some)