PDA

View Full Version : Cintiq 12WX Users: Still love it?

Brucie Rosch
04-19-2008, 06:54 PM
I'm teetering on the edge of getting a Cintiq 12WX for Painter and Photoshop. I know a couple posters here (or more) have had this tablet since late 2007. So, how are you liking it 4 months+ down the road?

Among any other comments you might have, I'm interested in whether it feels a bit too small. I find the portability potential a plus, but not if the small size is annoying on a daily basis. Also, how are the ergonomics?

I'm a professional illustrator, if that helps you frame your observations, and I currently use an Intuos tablet, 6 x 8.

Thanks in advance for any insight. As we all know, $1000 is a relatively significant cash outlay.

milkweed
04-21-2008, 09:59 AM
ive had mine for a month or so, so i dont know if my opinion is what you're looking for, but i love mine. it feels nice, and it makes things so much easier compared to the intuos, which i have as well. i was worried about the size too, but its much bigger than i thought it was. if you're a professional, i suggest getting it. im not a professional, but i use mine daily and love it. hope this helps

frog
04-21-2008, 12:25 PM
I've had mine for a few months now, I love it. Size os fine for me, it's very similar to the 6x8 so if that doesn't feel cramped you should be OK.

My only real complaint is that the screen scratches too easily, I already have a few scratches on mine. Get a microfibre cloth and clean the screen before every use.

Brucie Rosch
04-21-2008, 12:48 PM
This is helpful guys, thanks. Honestly, I really want to just go for this little tablet. I only wanted to hear if there was a big wave of delayed buyer's remorse after having the Cintiq for a while. The advice about the microfiber cloth is a good tip.

Anyone else got 1-3 months' experience they can relay? I'll probably jump for this tomorrow (Tuesday).

Brucie

kraal
04-21-2008, 01:42 PM