PDA

View Full Version : Don't auto select when an object is created?


daviddoria
04-19-2008, 04:38 PM
When I do this:

polyPlane

Maya creates a plane and selects it. Is there any way to have the object created but NOT selected (so the green lines aren't displayed on it)?

Thanks,
Dave

wajdyf
04-19-2008, 04:47 PM
polyPlane ;
select -cl ;

if u want nothing to be selected


string $sels[]=`ls -sl`;
polyplane;
select $sels;

to select the previously selected objects

daviddoria
04-19-2008, 04:50 PM
ok cool that may work - but theres no way to make it not select the new object at all (without having to DEselect it manually?)

Thanks!

ewerybody
04-20-2008, 11:28 AM
I currently have only Maya 7.0 here. But I know the command to create nodes in Maya2008 has a special flag for that!! So it only creates but does not destroy the selection. Maybe the poly-commands in Maya2008 hava similar flag?!?..

daviddoria
04-20-2008, 01:07 PM
this should be a complete list of the flag right?
http://www.autodesk.com/us/maya/docs/Maya85/Commands/polySphere.html

if so, I don't see any such thing - am i missing it??
Thanks,

Dave

wajdyf
04-20-2008, 01:28 PM
checked it on 8.5 and 2008 ..... no such flag ..... but I don't get why do u need 2 to do it in one command.

ewerybody
04-20-2008, 02:23 PM
ah ok. I'm sorry. Was only at the createNode-command: :(
http://www.autodesk.com/us/maya/docs/Maya85/Commands/createNode.html

-skipSelect(-ss)
This node is not to be selected after creation, the original selection will be preserved.

CGTalk Moderation
04-20-2008, 02:23 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.