PDA

View Full Version : Exporting custom values to a text file.

Ian00
04-17-2008, 08:40 PM
Hello, I am fairly new to maxscript, so any help, would of course be greatly appreciated. I have searched through cgtalk and scriptspot, but I couldn't find much. I am trying to find a way of exporting values, such as values in an attribute holder modifier, vertex positions in an object, and object transforms in max, to a text file to aid in game modding. Out of these I would mostly need to export custom attribute values.

JHN
04-18-2008, 12:00 PM
Maybe you should have searched the maxscript manual first :)
Search for "write to file", it will get you the "FileStream Values" topic to start with.
Also have a look at "Accessing INI File Keys".

Good luck!
-Johan

Ian00
04-18-2008, 12:18 PM
Thanks for the reply. :) It looks like this may be alot more complicated than I thought. ^^ But the example about weapondataCA may be what I am looking for. Its still seems pretty complicated, maybe if I had an example of a sphere, with just the radius value exported to a txt file on the C:\ drive would help.^^

ZeBoxx2
04-18-2008, 01:16 PM
assuming your sphere is Sphere01:

f = createFile "c:\\somefile.ext" -- create a file handle ready for output
format "Sphere radius: %\n" $Sphere01.radius to:f -- output the given string + radius to the file
close f -- make sure we close the file once we're done with it

That's pretty much the basics of it :)

If "c:\\somefile.ext" already exists, createFile will fail, and you'll have to use openFile instead:

f = openFile "c:\\somefile.ext" mode:"at" -- open the file, append to end, text
format "Sphere radius: %\n" $Sphere01.radius to:f -- output the given string + radius to the file
close f -- make sure we close the file once we're done with it

( Of course, openFile fails if the file does not exist. Isn't that fun? )

JHN
04-18-2008, 01:25 PM
-- Create a new file and get the fileStream
f = createFile "c:\\sphere_radius.txt"