PDA

View Full Version : Object Selection on Multiple Layers (CS2)


Super_Morph
04-16-2008, 10:55 AM
Hi!
If you have a solution for the below it will be much appreciated.
The question regards moving a small selection on several layers.

This is the example image:
http://www.xcntalien.force9.co.uk/linda/temp/TheImage.gif


These are the layers of the image:

http://www.xcntalien.force9.co.uk/linda/temp/Layers.gif

This is the method I’ve been using:
- View > Show > Layer Edges

- Select the move tool

- In the Options dialog activate “Auto Select Layer”

- Select the green square by pulling the move tools marquee over it. Both layers are activated


What I would like to happen:

To select both the green and black squares and move them in synchronisation. The red and yellow squares stay stationary.

What actually happens:

Photoshop automatically selects the red and yellow squares as well. The red and yellow squares move with the green and black squares.

I don’t want the red and yellow squares selected.

A solution would be to put each square on a separate layer. This would be time consuming as I'm working on a large file with 7 layers. Each layer has 99 squares. And each square has to be repositioned individually.

Thanks!:)

Calegolas
04-16-2008, 06:24 PM
Ctrl + Click on the layers icon in the layer palette and then simply move the selection.
this works only with the marquee tool selcted. so you will have to switch to it before or after selecting the objects.

If you can´t change the tool for what reason ever you can ctrl + click the icon in the layers palette and then go to select>transform selection.

Super_Morph
04-17-2008, 11:35 AM
Using the Marquee Tool certainly makes the process easier.

Thanks for your help.:)

CGTalk Moderation
04-17-2008, 11:35 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.