PDA

View Full Version : Dust Particles


ciaranb
04-15-2008, 10:45 AM
Hi all,
I'm creating a small animation set in a really old, dusty cathedral and I was wondering what would be the best way to implement the effect of Dust floating all around. Kinda like this:

http://www.visualspecialfx.com/projects/ballerina/2.jpg

but all around.

Thanks
Ciaran

frizDog
04-16-2008, 10:46 PM
layering different types of noise patterns can work pretty well...
Some higH frequency masked by other high frequency, masked my a low freq. perlin noise then animate the noise patterns, color them, and mask that whole thing inside roto shapes to your desired area...takes some dialing but this works

ciaranb
04-16-2008, 11:32 PM
Thanks for that but it sounds quite complicated, this is more what im looking for:

http://www.bdgamers.net/wp-content/uploads/2006/09/tgs-flow-2.jpg

http://image.com.com/gamespot/images/2007/065/935675_20070307_screen006.jpg

those little dust particles (plankton no doubt) floating in front of the camera. Can this be done in post production? or easily in max using animated masks?

frizDog
04-16-2008, 11:41 PM
My way would be in a compositing package shake or whatever you choose. . .

as long as your camera doesn't move too much you can get away with this method...

If you need to do it in 3d...Maybe play with an atmosphere shader on a volumetric light. . .

im not familiar with Max but you should be able create a Fx volume with only a handfull of points floting around. . .

shkumbinferizi
04-17-2008, 09:44 PM
alternatively u can use trapcode particular for ae or whatever ur compositing program is, its an excellent plugin, and cheap too.
cheers

CGTalk Moderation
04-17-2008, 09:44 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.