PDA

View Full Version : dual monitor?


shokan
04-14-2008, 12:17 AM
Is it possible to have two monitors with my system so I can have just the modo viewport on one monitor?

HP Pavilion A1514N, integrated ATI Express 200

I am not computer savvy. I am willing to upgrade on existing machine above.

Thanks.

csprance
04-15-2008, 12:58 AM
well first things first to have dual monitors you either need

2 video cards
or a video card with dual outputs and than the modo interface is extremely customisable and you can set it to howeer you wish

csprance

shokan
04-15-2008, 01:05 AM
Thanks.
I have one PCI Express X16 slot and three PCI slots. Since PCI Express seems to be the current trend, a card with dual outputs would be the way to go, yes? Any recommendations?

Jaspar
04-30-2008, 11:19 AM
The NVidia GeForce cards have traditionally supported OpenGL better. I'd suggest getting one with about 512MB of on board memory. Probably aim for around $150-$200 price range for a decent price-performance ratio. Most of them will have dual outputs at that price range, though they'll probably be either one analogue one digital, or two digital (dvi-i) outputs (though they often come with adaptors to convert between the two).

Jaspar

ambient-whisper
05-01-2008, 08:46 AM
heres a good one. makes no noise at all, its recommended to have a 425W power supply ( unlike the rest that require 450+, and its only $170 canadian, which isnt too bad.

http://www.pccanada.com/viewitem.asp?id=7836

shokan
05-08-2008, 03:25 PM
If I put a 425 Watt PS in a machine that has a 300W as it was sold, will I fry something?
HP A1514N, P4 3.06, 2G RAM.

Ambient: how do you use C4D typically with ZBrush? Model basics in C4D then to ZB?

Jaspar
05-08-2008, 03:59 PM
You can put in as large a PS as you want, the larger the better (though more expensive). Make sure it's the same kind/size (ie. ATX etc.). Try not to get too cheap a one though, as that might fry your system!

Novakog
05-28-2008, 07:49 AM
While nVidia cards tend to better for OGL, modo uses a few really advanced OGL techniques that nVidia cards don't handle as well. If you're going for just modo (in terms of CG apps), then go with ATI, but if you use other apps prominently then go with nVidia.

And yeah, you can't really get too much power from a computer PSU, but make sure it'll fit.

If you're using basically just modo (which it appears you're not), this card would be pretty ideal: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102703

If you're using it with other apps, the one ambient-whisper mentioned is good.

shokan
05-28-2008, 05:07 PM
Thanks for the advice. Actually,I am leaning towards modo now. Also, ZBrush, and I don't think the video card is a big issue there from what I've been told.

CGTalk Moderation
05-28-2008, 05:07 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.