PDA

View Full Version : Help For High School Studnts

visualworks
04-06-2008, 06:06 PM
Hello,

I am a television producer whose son has joined a FIRST Robotics high school team here in Beaverton, Oregon. They build robots and compete in state and national competitions. All prettty cool.

Anyway, the mentors of the group asked me (since I used to contract for 3D work and have some experience working with graphic artists) to help steer a few of the students towards learning 3D Studio Max. Apparently each robotics team is donated 6 licenses per year and one of the challenges for each team is to produce a 3D animation showing a new invention that would help clean up pollution. Long story short - I know there are a lot of tutorials out there, but a recommendation on the best tutorial for a rank beginner high school age kid that would jump start them to producing something would be great. My main request however is for leads on places to go where they may find already built objects that they could import and use that could be helpful.

I am greateful for any help in getting the kids up and running.

Thanks,

David Jones
VisualWorks

kevOrama
04-07-2008, 02:03 AM
You can buy models on turbo spuid and find good beginner tutorials on 3dtotal.com. Also, look through the help files that come with max and through its tutorials, most anything you could ever want to know will be in those file. There is alos a tutorial section n this site, and you can always look at the autodesk forums for help, http://area.autodesk.com/.

visualworks
04-07-2008, 02:28 AM