PDA

View Full Version : Slices to 32bit format?


EricChadwick
04-03-2008, 05:05 PM
In CS3 I'm trying to slice up a file that has a grid of images in it. Each image is 256x256, in a 8x8 grid within a single 2048x2048 PSD.

Is there a way to output each slice as a 32bit (8,8,8,8) format image, so each image retains its full 8bit alpha? The "Save for web and devices" only seems to offer 24bit PNG.

3dj
04-04-2008, 02:19 AM
I am pretty sure you would have to do this manually. I don't think save for web was made to do what you want.

-Jim

azynkron
04-04-2008, 09:46 AM
I am pretty sure you would have to do this manually. I don't think save for web was made to do what you want.

-Jim

I agree, what would be the point of saving in 32 bit for web use?

EricChadwick
04-04-2008, 02:54 PM
Gotcha. It's not for web, it's a series of icons that were packed into a single atlas for real-time 3D use, but I'm now repurposing them for a hardware spec that works better with multiple single images.

I figured it out. Applied the alpha to the layer, then sliced it out to PNG 24 with transparency. Worked pretty well, except the RGB in the transparent areas might be a little funky. We'll see.

CGTalk Moderation
04-04-2008, 02:54 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.