PDA

View Full Version : Syntheyes 2008


cavekid
04-01-2008, 09:53 PM
A new release of Syntheyes is out (I use it and Boujou, out of the two this is my fave matchmove software when it comes to tricky shots)

http://www.ssontech.com/press/press033108.htm

key changes:


Smarter Algorithms
Path Locking (helps define moves & co-ordinate setup)
Smoother Paths
New Graph Editor (can easily edit track keyframes, etc)
User Interface (can customize things more, faster preview on Mac)
:thumbsup:

MacManiax
04-02-2008, 12:10 AM
syntheyes is a great program, even a rookie like me picked it up pretty quick.

Jozvex
04-02-2008, 02:34 AM
Nice! Thanks for the post.

:thumbsup:

GatorNic
04-02-2008, 05:37 AM
I have to give them props. What you get for $400 is awesome considering the thousands it costs for every other tracker. :applause:

plejboy
04-02-2008, 09:45 AM
these improvments are super great!

BUT what has happend to the UI (http://www.ssontech.com/scncap.htm)?
It looks like something from 1992. Just look at the autotrack button. do we really need a photoshopped brushed metal plate under what seems to be the biggest auto track button in the world?

Russ is a genius and Syntheyes is ALWAYS my weapon of choice but someone needs to fix the UI. like now!

mortas may
04-02-2008, 10:06 AM
i don't use it "yet" but i agree change the interface!!
have a design interface challege, the winner gets a free copy..

MM

instinct-vfx
04-02-2008, 10:11 AM
Great news, thanks for the Heads up. Gotta agree about the interface. Feature-Wise it looks great....but that Auto-Button is a serious pain heh

Regards,
Thorsten

rtep
04-02-2008, 04:46 PM
SynthEyes never had fancy colored stupid buttons like the ones we can find in other software... So this big green supercool button, I think it's a nice joke, and I like it - now it looks a bit like PFTrack's "magic" Track and Solve button :D :D :D

plejboy
04-02-2008, 05:35 PM
SynthEyes never had fancy colored stupid buttons like the ones we can find in other software... So this big green supercool button, I think it's a nice joke...

thats a great argument. wish all companies designed their UI like jokes.

I guess it could be a late april fools...

Great software though!

cavekid
04-02-2008, 08:34 PM
I have to say I did laugh when I saw the giant auto button, but likewise I thought Russ might have been taking the mickey a bit ("just press the giant green DO IT ALL NOW button" :p ). Syntheyes has never really gone in for the flashy interface, but it works so darn well I really don't care what it looks like as long as the shortcuts still work, I can find my way around and the results are as good as ever. It'll be interesting to see what comments on the UI are posted on the syntheyes forum though.

rtep
04-02-2008, 08:58 PM
I have to say I did laugh when I saw the giant auto button, but likewise I thought Russ might have been taking the mickey a bit ("just press the giant green DO IT ALL NOW button" :p ). Syntheyes has never really gone in for the flashy interface, but it works so darn well I really don't care what it looks like as long as the shortcuts still work, I can find my way around and the results are as good as ever. It'll be interesting to see what comments on the UI are posted on the syntheyes forum though.

ABSOLUTELY AGREE!!! :)

plejboy: seems you're taking my post too seriously :(

ssontech
05-08-2008, 01:55 AM
The UI stuff is a lot harder than you'd think, easier to criticize than create. The new UI icons were professionally designed by specialists in that field. The one thing you can count on is that for any design, some contingent of people won't like it --- I doubt there's any design that everyone would like. Especially that works with different backgrounds, different dpis. (The button's not so big if you've got a modern high-res monitor.) But of course this doesn't mean they can't be improved.

Re the big green button.... there was a signficant set of people who'd open up SynthEyes 2007 and say "it's too complicated, what do I do?" So I had some fun and made that question go away, don't you think? You've gotta push it. If you know what you're doing, you switch away from that panel immediately anyway.

Bonus Question: if you had a 300 dpi screen 30" across, what would you do with all the pixels? Might you start to have more naturalistic textures, physical details, etc? Hmmm.

Have fun all.

CGTalk Moderation
05-08-2008, 01:55 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.