PDA

View Full Version : Is there a way to render shadows over Fresnel highlights?


zenonithus
04-01-2008, 05:07 PM
I got a simple fresnel shader setup. the problem I'm having is the highlights are still visable in the shadows. Is there anyway I can cover the highlights with the shadow so I get a more convincing rim light effect?

YourDaftPunk
04-01-2008, 06:00 PM
Super easy to fix. I assume you are using a sampler info node plugged into a ramp to get the fresnel? Before you plug the ramp into your shader, multiply it by the out value of a surface luminance node. SurfLum nodes can feed ramps like sampler info if you need more control. I attached an example scene.

zenonithus
04-02-2008, 10:21 AM
Nice one! Thanks for that solution Shawn and for uploading the scene. appreciate that :D

CGTalk Moderation
04-02-2008, 10:21 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.