PDA

View Full Version : XSI And Team Development

Omita
03-31-2008, 10:23 PM
I am very new to XSI, yet I like a lot of the basic features and some of our artist just love XSI's overall toolset and overall good support of high poly models. I would like to start a thread on any tips or tricks for setting up XSI for large teams (such as game development teams).

Basically, any tips for tricks that are specifically helpful for teams using XSI with mutiple people, or things to avoid, limitations etc. Or other resources, such as books or DVD's that cover these topics.

IE...

Making generic relative paths for all assets or stripping paths on assets for better portability amongst Multiple users.
How to share multiple models, animations, textures in separate files without creating a scene directory for each asset.
How to safely do Distributed Rendering with multiple artists.
etc...
-H

tc
03-31-2008, 11:47 PM
XSI is already good on that out of the box... so start thinking and searching about the following features:
- assets are shared using models, so you must understand models work and work first.
- delta referencing is the best thing to keep a distributed pipeline, so consider to go deep on this.
- workgroups to share your plugins/toolbars/layouts/custom commands/shaders etc...

Theres a lot of information about these things in the XSI help... and also in XSI wiki http://softimage.wiki.avid.com/index.php/Main_Page

I think is good to think on simple tools for versioning control too... so nobody goes crazy on your team :P

tc
04-01-2008, 12:16 AM
few other things:

Animation: