PDA

View Full Version : Rhythm & Hues opens new facility in India

RobertoOrtiz
03-30-2008, 01:09 AM
Culver City-based vfx shop Rhythm & Hues, which won the 2008 Oscar as the lead effects shop on "The Golden Compass," has opened a facility in Hyderabad, India.
link (http://www.variety.com/article/VR1117983032.html?categoryId=19&cs=1)

DJ-Nicke
03-30-2008, 08:00 AM
Yeah, this seems to be a trend lately. Wasn't half of "I am Legend" done by Sony India? I was a Demo Artist on the Autodesk M3 tour in Asia/Pacific and the guys who did India said they were treated like rock stars, and it was standing room only.

Like it or not, India is and will continue to be a big contender in our industry. I think it's a good thing, they just need to bring their prices up so the rest of us don't look so greedy... ;)

freesoul
03-30-2008, 09:11 AM
Ya, now India has 2 facilities of R&H, one in Mumbai and now in Hyderabad.
Also Disney is planning to setup a base in India too (or so i have heard) .. but they have already invested with YRF (Yash raj films) and are coming up with a movie this summer "Roadside Romeo" with Tata Elxsi VCL doing the CG part. And being an Indian myself, and being a student of the the same line, I am really looking forward to it. :)

EDITED

Stevemoh
03-31-2008, 02:40 PM
"The main reason why foreign entertainment firms are flocking to India is the cost advantage the country offers. For instance, in the US, animators can cost about $125 an hour; in India, they cost $25 an hour."

http://work2india.com/work2indiablog/?p=79

So when you say thats a good thing you mean you like working for $25 an hour.

Yeah, this seems to be a trend lately. Wasn't half of "I am Legend" done by Sony India? I was a Demo Artist on the Autodesk M3 tour in Asia/Pacific and the guys who did India said they were treated like rock stars, and it was standing room only.