PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Director 11 trial released

bluecanvas
03-29-2008, 11:02 PM
Third link under product box. Requires registration.

http://www.adobe.com/products/director/

Don't see much change to 3D side. New commands for Ageia PhysX. And the 3D obviously runs nice and fast on today's GFX cards. Quality wise it looks like standard DX9/OpenGL so far. Don't see any fancy new shader options. I haven't spent much time with it yet however.

Director IDE feels better than the old one. More organized.

AJE
03-29-2008, 11:30 PM
I thought Director was dead ages ago.

Can you tell me the benefits to working with it over Flash? I have had some experience with Director, and avoided Flash, so I honestly don't know which one to go with if I were to start learning one right now.

rgwarren
03-29-2008, 11:56 PM
I've worked with both and the ability to do 3D is the major feature that Director still offers over Flash. With the release of Adobe AIR if you're not interested in the 3D engine in Director you would be much better suited with a Flex/Flash/AIR combination.

Well, maybe not Flex depending on your needs. The U/I and feature set of Flash is more up to date and can do everything I've needed thus far.

AJE
03-30-2008, 12:49 AM
Cool. Thanks rgw :)

bluecanvas
03-30-2008, 01:14 AM
Director has a 3D game engine with PhysX physics that can run in a web browser and uses a compressed scene file format with streaming.

Pretty much any type of 3D game can be authored with it.

In a friendlier programming language than C++.

Flash movies can be an element in the game. Used for things like UIs, menus and other 2D element.

So can video in various formats.

AJE
03-30-2008, 02:14 AM
Director has a 3D game engine with PhysX physics that can run in a web browser and uses a compressed scene file format with streaming.

Pretty much any type of 3D game can be authored with it.

In a friendlier programming language than C++.