PDA

View Full Version : moving particles- the proper way?


yuriythebest
03-29-2008, 10:10 PM
right. my problem consists of how to correctly to add particles so I can later move them as a whole and no the emitter. currently I do it like so:

http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/4493/particlesgn4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

however with the "tracers with flash" particle effect doesn't seem to work plus it doesn't seem correct in itself. How does everyone else do it?

PiXeL_MoNKeY
04-07-2008, 05:02 PM
It really depends on what you are trying to do. Your question is a little too open. What exactly are you trying to do? The approach you are using should work, I am not sure what would cause it to not work properly.

-Eric

yuriythebest
04-08-2008, 11:49 AM
well my problem is that if I have a scene where the camera is panning and I move the emitter the smoke trail acts as if the actual emitter is moving (which is quite logical). In the approach I talked about above that problem is mostly solved, but it's very uncomfortable to move particles against a black background (even if to the view on the right I can see the end result), just doesn't feel right. Is there a better way?

PiXeL_MoNKeY
04-08-2008, 03:01 PM
Do your particles using a Composite (2D or 3D) and track the Particle Layer to the footage.

To solve your other problem inside the Particle Operator > Settings > Background > Set your desired footage. Think of this as your reference footage the actual background of the particle operator will not change, but when you access the particle operator the background will be what you set it to.

-Eric

CGTalk Moderation
04-08-2008, 03:01 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.