PDA

View Full Version : Baking in layer effects such as blending?


TLobes
03-29-2008, 07:33 AM
// Warning: Maya does not support Object-based Effects which may be present in the layer

This is the message I get when I try and setup a PSD network in Maya. It's flagging the layer that I have which is using blending options to smoothly blend down to the layer underneath it. Is there a way to bake in blending options without merging the layers?

My fix right now is to make a backup set of layers for use in photoshop and one for use in maya, but with a couple hundred different psds, it could get very easy to lose track of.

dougoftheabaci
04-21-2008, 04:04 AM
One solution I can think of, if you have CS3, is to select the layers you would merge and convert them to a smart object. It's a lot like a merged layer, and will likely be treated as one by Maya, but if you double-click on the preview icon in the Layer Palette you can open it up and edit it.

CGTalk Moderation
04-21-2008, 04:04 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.