PDA

View Full Version : Head modeling

gunnchief
03-28-2008, 09:57 PM
Where do I start? I'm trying to model in 3dmax 9 (Humans). If anyone knows any tutorials for modeling heads\bodies in 3dmax, please tell me. I've also heard something about a "box" method for heads, so tutorials on that would also be appreciated also. Thank you.

musashidan
03-30-2008, 08:24 AM
3dtotal,3dbuzz,3d-palace,secondreality,ego-lounge,subdivisionmodeling.com.....................
(and,of course,GOOGLE) the list is enless.

gunnchief
03-31-2008, 01:52 AM
I'll check those out now!

Kanga
04-08-2008, 03:43 PM
You dont need a specifically 3dmax tutorial because between apps the tools have different names but the functions are the same. A cut is a cut. I use max but have followed wings and xsi tutorials on body modelling.

Cheerio Chris

DickieGriffin
04-20-2008, 03:59 PM
As a student, I've just so happened to have compiled a selection of matirial. heres some that will get you started:

Orgaic Modeling series - http://lounge.ego-farms.com/showthread.php?t=213 - This takes you through Modeling a head using splines. It also covers setting up UV's and creating a texture map in photoshop.

jone of arc - http://www.3dtotal.com/ffa/tutorials/max/joanofarc/joanmenu.asp - a some what incomplete tutorial, but one of the most well known character modeling tuts around

gunnchief
04-24-2008, 01:23 AM
I thank you all, this is really helping!

Daegu
05-11-2008, 02:32 PM
Dickie mentioned the organic modeling tutorial by eric maslowski and I have to say that it was perhaps the single most helpful tutorial on modeling a head that I've done.

Zenthere
06-07-2008, 02:25 PM
I've found two methods I tend to use most with organic modeling. The one you use really depends on your personal preference and the situation.