PDA

View Full Version : editing 32 bit images


Rod Seffen
03-25-2008, 11:26 PM
The problem being that switching them to 16 bit to edit loses a lot of the information when you switch back to 32 bit.
Sometimes I need to clean up areas of 32 bit displacement maps, but making them 16 bit ruins them.
Is there any safe way to do this?

Quadart
03-26-2008, 12:55 PM
Sounds like youíre not using CS3.
32 bit files are editable in PS CS3. There are still a few adjustment options unavailable.

Rod Seffen
03-27-2008, 01:30 AM
I am using CS3, but 32 bit images require conversion to 16 bit for editing. Maybe it's because they are 32 bit floating point images exported from mudbox. I'm not sure what floating point means, but I assumed all 32 bit images were FP.

Quadart
03-29-2008, 02:35 PM
I guess your 32 bit textures from Mudbox are opening in PS v10 as 16 bit? If they open at 32 bit in PS10, you can edit them.
32 bit textures from ZBrush2 open as 8 bit in PS. I havenít found a solution for this. Iím sure there is one. 16 bit ZB displacement maps open as 16 bit in PS. I guess it may have something to do with the 32 bit floating point thing. Iíve always used the 8 bit default tex maps exported from ZB2 (Iím a ZB3 Mac version holdout) at the largest available ZB2 size of 4096 x 4096.

Rod Seffen
03-29-2008, 06:03 PM
Well that's the thing - it does open as 32 bit, but apparently cannot be edited as 32 bit.
I can use a few adjustments like levels and some filters like blur, but that's it.
I guess it's because these 32bit FP images are basically HDR images.
These 32 FP images definitely give better results than 8 or 16, at least as far as mudbox export is concerned. Also, unlike 8 or 16, you don't need to tweak the strength in the render engine, at least in lightwave, these 32bit FP images seem to have an inbuilt default which gives perfect results identical to what you see on the sculpt itself.

Quadart
03-29-2008, 06:28 PM
Thatís strange.
What file type are the files exported as?
Did you try creating a 32 bit test file in PS to see if you get the same result when you try to edit it?

Iím on a mac (which I donít think makes a difference) and can use all of the tool bar tools except the Patch Tool, on 32 bit files. There are a handful of adjustment modes I canít use either.

Rod Seffen
03-29-2008, 09:40 PM
Hmmm..this is weird then, because I did just make a 32 bit image and I get the same result of no editing allowed.
This is obviously a wider problem than just the mudbox displacement exports, I'll see if I can search for a solution.

Quadart
03-30-2008, 12:02 AM
What version of Photoshop CS3 are you using? If you are not using the Extended version, this may be the problem. It just occurred to me that Photoshop CS3 Extended has greater 32 bit and HDR editing capabilities than Photoshop CS3.
http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/compare/

Rod Seffen
03-30-2008, 02:16 PM
Yeah, that was it. It's ridiculous that you have to spend an extra few hundred dollars just to get proper 32 bit editing, why the hell can't they include it in the normal version. I don't need any of the other bells and whistles in the extended version.

CGTalk Moderation
03-30-2008, 02:16 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.