PDA

View Full Version : Maya 5 MentalRay Crashes


doody
05-08-2003, 10:36 PM
Everytime I render certain scenes mental ray crashes, I tried to render it on my friends computers and it crashes on his too. can"t figure out why. Need Help

stunndman
05-08-2003, 11:03 PM
try to the find the item(s) in your scene that causes mental-ray to crash - that's the best advice i can give you

i had a similar problem and in the end after removing bit by bit from my scene i was left with a few trimmed nurbs surfaces that caused MRfM 1.5 to crash

Jozvex
05-09-2003, 12:47 AM
What's the scene? What sort of things are in it?

Maya 5 has crashed once on me when I tested rendering lots of cloud particles using Mental Ray.

Gremlin
05-09-2003, 03:57 AM
yah, 5.0 has got some bugs... expect a 5.1 update (it might actually be 5.0.1, but that sounds so miniscule, and there are some BIG problems)

Jozvex
05-09-2003, 04:36 AM
What problems have you found Gremlin?

Mine seems to sometimes leave 'interface residue' on the desktop when I minimize. And if you click on the desktop a marking menu comes up!

doody
05-09-2003, 05:24 AM
My scene is a poly model of a head with layered textures. I think it's the textures or something, or the UV sets. I took off the textures but it still crashes. This stinks, If a update doesn't come out soon I might have to go back to 4.5, Has anyone heard of a update comming out soon.

Gremlin
05-09-2003, 05:40 AM
Jozvex,
I think I had a particles problem earlier, but for me, I really havent had many problems, but by some of the problems posted by others, it sounds like it needs serious work? :hmm:

wait...what are you doing jozvex?! work on those damn tutorials damnit, I want them by the weekend!! :D (Im still competiting for most posts with you!)
Cheers,
:beer:

Jozvex
05-09-2003, 11:45 AM
Beat me you shan't!!

Was the head originally SubD?? Can you post the scene file?

doody
05-10-2003, 09:17 PM
The head was always a poly

Jozvex
05-11-2003, 03:39 AM
Ok.

Hmmm, I really can't think of anything else.

Could you post a scene file that crashes for us to look at? You don't have to give us your whole scene if you're worried about people using your work.

Gremlin
05-11-2003, 10:04 AM
Interesting, Mental Ray just dissappeared from my renderer pull down menu, dont even know wtf happened. I looked in the plugin manager, and kinda fooled around. Kinda screwy how Mental Ray renderer is called like mayatomr (maya to mental ray?) I was lookin' for MentalRay.mll or MR_render.mll ya know... not something that sounded like an exporting plugin from maya to mirai :hmm:
Cheers,
:beer:

doody
05-12-2003, 07:21 AM
A little off the topic but, You have mirai? How is it? Is it good for texture painting?

SheepFactory
05-12-2003, 07:58 AM
Doody read the release notes for MR under your maya docs.

There it lists what MR is currently not supporting and all the known bugs and workarounds.

doody
05-12-2003, 07:36 PM
Yea but the scenes I rendered in 4.5 with Mental Ray won't render in 5.0's Mental Ray

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 03:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.