PDA

View Full Version : UK Bournemouth University Interviews

JDHovey
03-25-2008, 12:55 AM
Hi, i'm thinking of applying at Bournemouth for Computer Visualisation and Animation.
Has anybody currently studying there or has studied there and has got through the interview.

I know there is a maths test, logical thinking test, portolio and interview.
The maths and logical thinking shouldnt be a problem as i am currently studying maths and physics A-Level.
But what are they looking for at the interview? your personality, portfolio, exam results?
How competitive or hard to get in is it?

Some help would be great
Thanks
Josh

JDHovey
03-25-2008, 04:28 PM
bump...........................

c013310
03-25-2008, 07:39 PM
Hey Josh,

I'm currently studying at bournemouth university on the Computer Visualisation and Animation course. We've just handed in our first year animation project and i'm knackered and ready to sleep for two days straight..lol.

Like you said, the maths test and logic test aren't too taxing on people who have done a-level maths, and have some common sense. Theres also a life drawing test, which for me was just lots of fairly short studies instead of long detailed drawings. Its used more to see if you have a sense of weight, arcs of motion etc... My interviewer had me talk about my drawings i'd done during the interview, mainly whether i liked them, what was good/bad about them..

My interviewer turned out to be our cinematography lecturer, and he looked through my portfolio which consisted of some of a-level work and some life drawing stuff i'd done to show outside of college. He didn't really tell me what he was looking for whilst he was looking through my portfolio. I had a good range of work to show different skills and shows you have a wider understanding of certain concepts, which i guess is good for an interview situation.