PDA

View Full Version : question of mr renderer!


Tidus
05-08-2003, 08:00 PM
I make many windows of these building,
when I use metalray render them,some disappeared,
why?What parameter can i set ?

Jozvex
05-09-2003, 12:44 AM
Hi Tidus (love that game by the way!),

I think what's happening is that your FG settings are not picking up the detail of some of the windows, and so the building is being lit as if it were just flat.

Two ways to fix it would be to increase the number of Final Gather Rays, and to lower the Min Radius value.

Try that and see if it helps!

Tidus
05-09-2003, 09:34 AM
thanks first! :)
I had set FG parameter:
Final Gather rays=1000,
Min Radius=0.001,
Max Radius=4,
but problem is the same.
do u have other way to do it?

:hmm:

Gremlin
05-09-2003, 09:43 AM
.0001 ? jesus!! thats so tiny... why dont you set both min and max to 0 (auto assign) and see what the results are?
Cheers,
:beer:

Tidus
05-09-2003, 09:54 AM
I had set both min and max to 0
but...:hmm:

stunndman
05-09-2003, 10:52 AM
leave the FG min radius at 0 and lower the FG max radius bit by bit

stunndman
05-09-2003, 10:59 AM
i could give you some rough numbers if i knew your scene scale, e.g. how wide (in units) is one of these windows?

Jozvex
05-09-2003, 11:50 AM
More FG Rays!!!

And maybe higher AA sampling settings.

stunndman
05-09-2003, 12:53 PM
Originally posted by Jozvex
More FG Rays!!!

And maybe higher AA sampling settings.

both won't give him any substantial improvement

the following image was rendered with 500 rays - default contrast (.1) - min radius 0 - max radius 2 - that's about the extrude depth of the windows (that's what i call the smallest visible shadowing detail, not sure if this makes sense)

edit: and that is what you have to adjust - find the smallest visible shadowing (or shadowed?) detail in your scene (start with the extrude depth of your windows) and set your max radius to it - everything else is tuning

http://alienbit.com/shared/fg_max_radius_test_mb_fr_09_05_2003_13_01_2.jpg

Tidus
05-09-2003, 01:18 PM
To Jozvex:
thanks,I set sampling quality min and max =3,
below pic is finished.
it seems alot of better.

Tidus
05-09-2003, 01:21 PM
Originally posted by stunndman
both won't give him any substantial improvement

the following image was rendered with 500 rays - default contrast (.1) - min radius 0 - max radius 2 - that's about the extrude depth of the windows (that's what i call the smallest visible shadowing detail, not sure if this makes sense)

edit: and that is what you have to adjust - find the smallest visible shadowing (or shadowed?) detail in your scene (start with the extrude depth of your windows) and set your max radius to it - everything else is tuning

http://alienbit.com/shared/fg_max_radius_test_mb_fr_09_05_2003_13_01_2.jpg

thanks alot.
I use soptlight as sunlight,so I feel my pic has not depth,
can u tell more about how u set ur light?

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 03:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.