PDA

View Full Version : help w/ script idea and pointOnSurfaceInfo

James Jackson
05-07-2003, 11:31 PM
I am wondering if it is possible to have an underlying surface (lets say a plan for ease) with geometry on top of it and for every piece of geo on the surface get the pivot point of each and call on the pointOnSurfaceInfo to create a locator and an aim constraint (ala rivet script on highend) and then parent each to the corresponding rivet.

I was thinking of using a for in loop by
getting all of the selected geometry to be riveted and cycle threw them getting there pivot points selecting the surface point on the surface and running the rivet script.

1.Is there already something that will do this? ( I don't want to reinvent the wheel)

2.Does my approach sound reasonable? Are there better ways to do it? (as I am new to this)

3.What approaches have other people here used in the past? How did they
work out?

gmask
05-07-2003, 11:34 PM
What is the effect that you are going for?

michaelcomet
05-08-2003, 01:54 PM
The main problem you will have is figuring out what % on the POS node will yeild the right spot relative to the original object.

ie: do a rivet loop is easy. But figuring out what that surface point is etc, will be tricky. One cheat, not sure, is I think may the surface constraint already uses POS. First off you may just one to do a surface constraint, but if not, you might be able to do one temporarily, read the POS node data, then blow it away, and create your own with similar values.

That or do some brute force loop test to see what values yield the closest distance results.

James Jackson
05-08-2003, 06:33 PM
Hi michael